THE PROPHECIES OF THE OLD TESTAMENT

AND THEIR FULLFILMENT IN THE NEW TESTAMENT

(Part Two)

For Part One see Here

(Please do not copy without referencing the original text!)

 

23.  PRIEST AFTER THE ORDER OF MELCHISEDEK

 

THE OT. PROPHECY

[Psalm 109:4] The Lord hath sworn and will not repent: “Thou art a priest for ever, after the order of Melchisedek.“

THE NT. FULFILLMENT

[Hebrew 5:5] So also Christ glorified not himself to be made an high priest; but he that said unto him, ‘Thou art my Son, to day have I begotten thee.’

[Hebrew 5:6] As he saith also in another place,Thou art a priest for ever after the order of Melchisedec.

[Hebrew 5:10] Called of God an high priest after the order of Melchisedec.

 

24.  HIS TRIUNPHANT ENTRY into JERUSALEM 

Icon of the Entrance into Jerusalem

THE OT. PROPHECY

[Zacharias 9:9] Rejoice greatly, O daughter of Sion; proclaim it aloud, O daughter of Jerusalem; behold, the King is coming to thee, just, and a Saviour; he is meek and riding on an ass, and a young foal.

THE NT. FULFILLMENT

[Mark 11:7] And they brought the colt to Jesus, and cast their garments on him; and he sat upon him.

[Mark 11:9] And they that went before, and they that followed, cried, saying, Hosanna; Blessed is he that cometh in the name of the Lord!

[Mark 11:11] And Jesus entered into Jerusalem, and into the temple: and when he had looked round about upon all things, and now the eventide was come, he went out unto Bethany with the twelve.

 

25.  PRAISED BY CHILDREN

 

THE OT. PROPHECY

[Psalm 8:2] Out of the mouths of babes and sucklings hast Thou perfected praise, because of Thine enemies, to destroy the enemy and avenger.

THE NT. FULFILLMENT

[Mattew 21:15] And when the chief priests and scribes saw the wonderful things that he did, and the children crying in the temple, and saying, Hosanna to the Son of David; they were sore displeased,

[Mattew 21:16] And said unto him, Hearest thou what these say? And Jesus saith unto them, ‘Yea; have ye never read, Out of the mouth of babes and sucklings thou hast perfected praise?’

 

26.  DENIED BY HIS PEOPLE

 

THE OT. PROPHECY

[Esaias 53:1] O Lord, who has believed our report? and to whom has the arm of the Lord been revealed?

THE NT. FULFILLMENT

 [John 12:37] But though he had done so many miracles before them, yet they believed not on him:

 [John 12:38] That the saying of Esaias the prophet might be fulfilled, which he spake, ‘Lord, who hath believed our report? and to whom hath the arm of the Lord been revealed?’ 

 

27.  BETRAYED BY HIS FRIEND / DISCIPLE

 

THE OT. PROPHECY

[Psalm 40:9] Yea, even the man of my peace in whom I hoped, who ate of my bread, hath magnified the lifting of heels against me.

THE NT. FULFILLMENT

 [Mark 14:10] And Judas Iscariot, one of the twelve, went unto the chief priests, to betray him unto them.

 [Mark 14:20] And he answered and said unto them, ‘It is one of the twelve, that dippeth with me in the dish.’

 [Mark 14:21] The Son of man indeed goeth, as it is written of him: but woe to that man by whom the Son of man is betrayed! good were it for that man if he had never been born.

 

28.  SOLD for THIRTY PIECES OF SILVER

  

THE OT. PROPHECY

[Zacharias 11:12] And I will say to them, If it be good in your eyes, give me my price, or refuse it. And they weighed for my price thirty pieces of silver.

THE NT. FULFILLMENT

[Mattew 26:14] Then one of the twelve, called Judas Iscariot, went unto the chief priests,

[Mattew 26:15] And said unto them, What will ye give me, and I will deliver him unto you? And they covenanted with him for thirty pieces of silver.  

 

29.  ACCUSED by FALSE WITNESSES

 

THE OT. PROPHECY

[Psalm 34:10] Unjust witnesses rose up against me; things I knew not they asked me.

NT. FULFILLMENT                                                                                                                     

 [Mark 14:56] For many bare false witness against him, but their witness agreed not together.

 

30.  SILENT BEFORE the ACCUSERS

 

THE OT. PROPHECY

[Esaias 53:7] And he, because of his affliction, opens not his mouth: he was led as a sheep to the slaughter, and as a lamb before the shearer is dumb, so he opens not his mouth.

THE NT. FULFILLMENT

[Mark 15:4] And Pilate asked him again, saying, Answerest thou nothing? behold how many things they witness against thee.  

[Mark 15:5] But Jesus yet answered nothing; so that Pilate marvelled.

 

31.  SPITTED UPON and BEATEN

 

THE OT. PROPHECY

[Esaias 50:6] I gave my back to scourges, and my cheeks to blows; and I turned not away my face from the shame of spitting…

THE NT. FULFILLMENT

[Mattew 26:67] Then did they spit in his face, and buffeted him; and others smote him with the palms of their hands,  

 

32.  HATED WITHOUT A CAUSE

 

THE OT. PROPHECIES

[Psalm 34:11] They repaid me with evil things for good, and barrenness for my soul.  

[Psalm 34:18] Let not them rejoice against me that unjustly are mine enemies, they that hate me without a cause, and wink with their eyes.

THE NT. FULFILLMENT

[John 15:24] If I had not done among them the works which none other man did, they had not had sin: but now have they both seen and hated both me and my Father.

[John 15:25] But this cometh to pass, that the word might be fulfilled that is written in their law, ‘They hated me without a cause.’ 

 

33.  DIED FOR OUR SALVATION

 

THE OT. PROPHECY

[Esaias 53:5] But he was wounded on account of our sins, and was bruised because of our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon him; and by his bruises we were healed.

THE NT. FULFILLMENT

[Romans 5:6] For when we were yet without strength, in due time Christ died for the ungodly.

[Romans 5:7] For scarcely for a righteous man will one die: yet peradventure for a good man some would even dare to die.

[Romans 5:8] But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.

 

34. CRUCIFIED WITH THE TRANSGRESSORS

THE OT. PROPHECY

[Esaias 53:12] Therefore he shall inherit many, and he shall divide the spoils of the mighty; because his soul was delivered to death: and he was numbered among the transgressors; and he bore the sins of many, and was delivered because of their iniquities.

THE NT. FULFILLMENT

[Mark 15:27] And with him they crucify two thieves; the one on his right hand, and the other on his left.

[Mark 15:28] And the scripture was fulfilled, which saith, And He was numbered with the transgressors.

 

35.  WITH HANDS AND FEET PIERCED

 

THE OT. PROPHECY

[Zacharias 12:10] And I will pour upon the house of David, and upon the inhabitants of Jerusalem, the spirit of grace and compassion: and they shall look upon me, because they have mocked me, and they shall make lamentation for him, as for a beloved friend, and they shall grieve intensely, as for a firstborn son. 

[Psalm 21:18] They have pierced my hands and my feet…

THE NT. FULFILLMENT

[John 20:20] And when he had so said, he shewed unto them his hands and his side. Then were the disciples glad, when they saw the Lord.

[John 20:25] The other disciples therefore said unto him, We have seen the Lord. But he said unto them, Except I shall see in his hands the print of the nails, and put my finger into the print of the nails, and thrust my hand into his side, I will not believe.  

 

36. DESPISED, INSULTED AND MOCKED

 

THE OT. PROPHECY

[Psalm 21:7] All that look upon me have laughed me to scorn; they have spoken with their lips and have wagged their heads:  

[Psalm 21:8] He hoped in the Lord; let Him deliver him, let Him save him, for He desireth him.’

THE NT. FULFILLMENT

[Luke 23:35] And the people stood beholding. And the rulers also with them derided him, saying, He saved others; let him save himself, if he be Christ, the chosen of God.

[Mattew 27:39] And they that passed by reviled him, wagging their heads,…

 

37. PLAGED BY THIRST

 

THE OT. PROPHECY

[Psalm 21:16] My strength is dried up like a potsherd, and my tongue hath cleaved to my throat, and into the dust of death hast Thou brought me down.

THE NT. FULFILLMENT

[John 19:28] After this, Jesus knowing that all things were now accomplished, that the scripture might be fulfilled, saith, I thirst.

 

38. HE WAS GIVEN VINEGAR TO DRINK

 

THE OT. PROPHECY

[Psalm 68:25] And they gave me gall for my food, and for my thirst they gave me vinegar to drink.

THE NT. FULFILLMENT

[Mattew 27:34]  They gave him vinegar to drink mingled with gall: and when he had tasted thereof, he would not drink.

[Mattew 27:48] And straightway one of them ran, and took a spunge, and filled it with vinegar, and put it on a reed, and gave him to drink.

 

39. REPROACHED

 

THE OT. PROPHECY

[Psalm 68:9] Because for Thy sake I have borne reproach, shame hath covered my face.

THE NT. FULFILLMENT

[Mattew 27:44] The thieves also, which were crucified with him, cast the same in his teeth.

[Romans 15:3] For even Christ pleased not himself; but, as it is written, ‘The reproaches of them that reproached thee fell on me.’ 

 

40. PRAYED FOR HIS TORTURERS

 

THE OT. PROPHECY

[Psalm 108:3] In return for my love, they have falsely accused me; but as for me, I gave myself to prayer.

THE NT. FULFILLMENT

[Luke 23:34] Then said Jesus, Father, forgive them; for they know not what they do…

 

41. THEY CAST LOTS FOR HIS VESTURE

  

 

 

THE OT. PROPHECY

[Psalm 21:20] They have parted my garments amongst themselves, and for my vesture have they cast lots.

THE NT. FULFILLMENT

[Mark 15:24] And when they had crucified him, they parted his garments, casting lots upon them, what every man should take.

[John 19:23] Then the soldiers, when they had crucified Jesus, took his garments, and made four parts, to every soldier a part; and also his coat: now the coat was without seam, woven from the top throughout.

[John 19:24] They said therefore among themselves, ‘Let us not rend it, but cast lots for it, whose it shall be’: that the scripture might be fulfilled, which saith, ‘They parted my raiment among them, and for my vesture they did cast lots.’ These things therefore the soldiers did.  

  

42. ABANDONED BY GOD

 

THE OT. PROPHECY

[Psalm 21:1] O God, my God, attend to me; why hast Thou forsaken me?

THE NT. FULFILLMENT

[Mark 15:34] And at the ninth hour Jesus cried with a loud voice, saying, Eloi, Eloi, lama sabachthani? which is, being interpreted, My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken me?

[Mattew 27:46] And about the ninth hour Jesus cried with a loud voice, saying, Eli, Eli, lama sabachthani? that is to say, My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken me?

 

43. HAD NONE OF HIS BONES BROKEN

 

THE OT. PROPHECY

[Psalm 33:19] The Lord keepeth all their bones, not one of them shall be broken.

THE NT. FULFILLMENT

[John 19:33] But when they came to Jesus, and saw that he was dead already, they brake not his legs:

[John 19:36] For these things were done, that the scripture should be fulfilled, A bone of him shall not be broken.

 

44. BURIED WITH THE WICKED

 

THE OT. PROPHECY

[Esaias 53:9] And I will give the wicked for his burial, and the rich for his death; for he practised no iniquity, nor craft with his mouth.

THE NT. FULFILLMENT  

[Mattew 27:57] When the even was come, there came a rich man of Arimathaea, named Joseph, who also himself was Jesus’ disciple:

[Mattew 27:58] He went to Pilate, and begged the body of Jesus. Then Pilate commanded the body to be delivered.

[Matei 27:59] Şi Iosif, luând trupul, l-a înfăşurat în giulgiu curat de in,

[Mattew 27:59] And when Joseph had taken the body, he wrapped it in a clean linen cloth,

[Mattew 27:60] And laid it in his own new tomb, which he had hewn out in the rock: and he rolled a great stone to the door of the sepulchre, and departed.

 

45. RESURRECTED FROM THE DEAD

Resurrection 

THE OT. PROPHECY

[Psalm 15:10] For Thou wilt not abandon my soul in hades, nor wilt Thou suffer Thy Holy One to see corruption.

[Psalm 48:14] Like sheep they are laid in hades, death shall be their shepherd.

{Psalm 48:16] Yet God shall redeem my soul out of the hand of hades, when he receiveth me.

THE NT. FULFILLMENT

[Mark 16:6] And he saith unto them, Be not affrighted: Ye seek Jesus of Nazareth, which was crucified: he is risen; he is not here: behold the place where they laid him.

[Mark 16:7] But go your way, tell his disciples and Peter that he goeth before you into Galilee: there shall ye see him, as he said unto you.

[Acts 2:31] He seeing this before spake of the resurrection of Christ, that his soul was not left in hell, neither his flesh did see corruption.

[1 Corinthians 15:4] And that he was buried, and that he rose again the third day according to the scriptures…

 

46. HE ASSENDED at THE RIGH HAND OF GOD – THE FATHER

 

THE OT. PROPHECY

[Psalm 109:1] The Lord said unto my Lord: “Sit Thou at My right hand, until I make Thine enemies the footstool of Thy feet.”

THE NT. FULFILLMENT

[Mark 16:19] So then after the Lord had spoken unto them, he was received up into heaven, and sat on the right hand of God.

[Mark 14:62] And Jesus said, I am: and ye shall see the Son of man sitting on the right hand of power, and coming in the clouds of heaven.

[Colossians 3:1] If ye then be risen with Christ, seek those things which are above, where Christ sitteth on the right hand of God.

[Ephesians 1:20] Which he wrought in Christ, when he raised him from the dead, and set him at his own right hand in the heavenly places,

[Hebrew 1:3] Who being the brightness of his glory, and the express image of his person, and upholding all things by the word of his power, when he had by himself purged our sins, sat down on the right hand of the Majesty on high;

[Hebrew 8:1] Now of the things which we have spoken this is the sum: We have such an high priest, who is set on the right hand of the throne of the Majesty in the heavens;

[Hebrew 10:12] But this man, after he had offered one sacrifice for sins for ever, sat down on the right hand of God;

[Hebrew 12:2] Looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith; who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is set down at the right hand of the throne of God.

[Acts 7:55] But he (Stephen), being full of the Holy Ghost, looked up stedfastly into heaven, and saw the glory of God, and Jesus standing on the right hand of God,

[Acts 7:56] And said, Behold, I see the heavens opened, and the Son of man standing on the right hand of God!

 

Study done by Archipriest/Hieromonk Michael (Mikhail) Stanciu

(Translated by EC)

 

(Old Testament verses taken from Septuagint translated from Greek by Sir Lancelot C. L. Brenton
originally published by Samuel Bagster & Sons, Ltd., London, 1851);

(The Psalter according to the Seventy);

(New Testament verses taken from King James Version, originally published by Oxford Press, Oxford, 1769.

  

